Author Topic: Late 70's TA prices  (Read 7725 times)

Offline limey

Late 70's TA prices
« on: November 20, 2007, 03:10:05 PM »
Hey everyone,

Since I was a kid I thought the Trans-Am was awesome.  I'm just getting into the market, and looking for a late 70's Trans-am.  The little knowledge I have, I got from Hitman"s site. I really would like a 79 or so, with t-tops and the four speed manual.  How important are matching numbers?  I really want an original car, nothing thats been tricked out.  Any basic info would be appreciated as I am a rookie to this.  From the cars I've looked at, seems like anywhere from 15k to 25k for a descent car.  I know that they can be much more, but that would be a bit more than I am ready for.  Not looking for a full on project, but more something to tinker on.  Thanks again.
79 Heritage Brown, 400 4spd, #'s matching. 1 of 2917.

Offline brian c

• Lifetime Member
  • Ohio Firebirds Member
    • Y88 Resto
Re: Late 70's TA prices
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2007, 08:10:50 PM »
Very loaded question but I'll do what I can...

Numbers Matching - its important for resale to some extent. But the other side of the coin is that if you start out with a 80 base firebird with a V6 and convert it to a V8 anything you'll actually get more for the car as V8's are more performance oriented and draw a premium. If I was looking for a true TA I'd want numbers matching but it wouldn't deter me if the car was in good shape and had the options I wanted. All depends on whether you're looking to do a little detail work and flip a car OR hold onto it for some time, enjoying it along the way.

4sp vs. auto - the 4spds are drawing premiums as they're seen as more a performance tranny over a 3spd auto.