Author Topic: Sway bar bushings  (Read 2797 times)

Offline tigermc

Sway bar bushings
« on: January 24, 2007, 08:14:13 PM »
I need to know what size sway bar bushings to get. Both for the front sway bar and rear. :?:

Offline Rick

• Global Moderator
  • Lifetime Member
Sway bar bushings
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2007, 08:17:09 PM »
What size swaybars do  you have?  Not trying to crack wise, but there have been a couple of different sizes over the years.  You can use an open end wrench to gauge the size -- it'll be the one that just barely slips over the bar(s).

Offline tigermc

Sway bar bushings
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2007, 08:20:40 PM »
Im not sure what size it is.  Its a 78 trans Am that Im restoring.  I know that a 1 1/8 wont fit over  the front bar and I havent tried to measure the back.  
Im new at the restoring thing being that Im 16.  I bought an entire bushing kit  for the car but it didnt come with the sway bar bushings. Maybe thats the reason.

Offline Rick

• Global Moderator
  • Lifetime Member
Sway bar bushings
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2007, 08:29:44 PM »
It probably is the reason you didn't get those bushings.  You can also use a crescent wrench as a gauge, then measure the distance between the jaws to get the diameter if you don't have open end wrenches that big.

Offline tigermc

Sway bar bushings
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2007, 08:36:13 PM »
thanks.  Is that for the rear sway bar as well?

Offline Rick

• Global Moderator
  • Lifetime Member
Sway bar bushings
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2007, 08:39:33 PM »
Yes, that method will work for both -- just be sure the bar is clean and free of any undercoating, etc., that would distort your measurements.

Offline tigermc

Sway bar bushings
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2007, 08:43:20 PM »
Thanks again.
By the way, do you happen to know of any place where I can find a bare pontiac 400 block that hasnt been machined or anything?...I kinda destroyed mine. :(

Offline Rick

• Global Moderator