Author Topic: Stupid Engine Question  (Read 4700 times)

Offline Turtle

Stupid Engine Question
« on: February 26, 2007, 11:58:16 AM »
Hey folks, I'll apologize in advance for this question, but I'm a complete Pontiac noob.

I've always been a Ford and Mopar guy; I've owned a '65 Mustang with a 289/4spd and a '69 Dodge Charger with a 383/727, amongst others.  I also currently have a '91 Camaro RS with the 305/700R4, and my little brother has a '78 Nova with a 305/350, which I've helped him work on a lot, so I have some experience with Chevy products.

I've always wanted a '77 - '81 Trans Am, being a HUGE fan of "Smokey and the Bandit".  Long story short, a guy at work is giving me a '79 Firebird with a small-displacement V8.  He thinks it's a 305.  Is this the same engine as the Chevy 305 of similar years?

Offline GK_STAR

Stupid Engine Question
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2007, 12:28:45 PM »
If it's a 305 it's a Chevy engine, 301 it's a Pontiac engine.
But Hey...Thats just Me..I could be Wrong
Greg

78 T/A 403ci Olds
80 T/A 350ci Olds Rocket
78 Indy Pace Car Vette
64 Olds 88 2 Door Hardtop 394ci

Offline Rick

• Global Moderator
  • Lifetime Member
Stupid Engine Question
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2007, 12:57:58 PM »
Yep -- if it's a 305 and it's a SBC, then it's the same SBC as others of that vintage.  But like GK-STAR said, if it looks like a Pontiac engine then it will be the 301.

Offline milly

• Adv. Member
Stupid Engine Question
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2007, 12:42:19 AM »
Is the engine original as far as you know?? If so, post the VIN and we can decode it for you. That will tell you what came from the factory.
John
1981 Trans Am
1996 Firebird

Central Illinois Firebirds
Ohio Firebirds

Offline Turtle

Stupid Engine Question
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2007, 11:56:42 AM »
Quote from: "milly"
Is the engine original as far as you know?? If so, post the VIN and we can decode it for you. That will tell you what came from the factory.