Author Topic: media blasting  (Read 2872 times)

Offline wilsonchris

media blasting
« on: November 26, 2007, 04:32:32 PM »
I need some advice.  My car is gonna go to the body shop in a month or so and my body guy wants me to strip the car down completely so he can media blast the whole thing.  My problem is that since im gonna be doing most of the work myself (outside of the body and paint), and since this is my first attempt at restoring a car.  Im not very confident in my ability to put  a WHOLE car back together.  Is there a way that he can only blast like the inside or just the back half and leave so i can leave the dash and wiring up front intact and redo those things one at atime? or is this a one shot deal?  Any help would be aprreciated.
Chris

Offline brian c

• Lifetime Member
  • Ohio Firebirds Member
    • Y88 Resto
Re: media blasting
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2007, 04:47:10 PM »
The problem with media blasting is that its an abrasive being sent at the body at pressure so its going to tear through any kind of paper/plastic/tape you try to use to seal off compartments that you don't want the media in. You'll be vacuuming lots of abrasive out of things, risk damage to the dash/glass, etc. Best thing to do is to strip it bare and let the blaster do his/her thing.

And if you're going to have it soda blasted you might want to read up on how to clean the body afterwards as the soda will cause issues further down the road. The first shop I had work on my car did NOT prep my car properly after soda blasting the hood and the subsequent primer came off in sheets - peeled right off with a single edge razor blade.

1978 Y88, '70 455 HO block bored 0.060, TH350, 3.42:1 gears...Oct '08 Fbodywarehouse Calendar - Woot!
1980 Firebird - no engine/tranny... to be pacecar clone

Offline wilsonchris

« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2007, 05:08:56 PM »