Author Topic: wiring  (Read 1173 times)

Offline kendupree

wiring
« on: June 25, 2009, 12:10:40 AM »
Well, I am new to this so bear with me. I am having a problem with the wiring in my 10th anniversary Trans Am. The dash lights are out and the dome light comes on dim every time I hit the brake petal. I also have no brake lights. The taillights and headlights and marker lights all work. I also lost the clock on the radio. Any suggestions on where to look? I have checked the grounds on both sides of the core support, they are good. I cleaned the plug terminals in the trunk and made sure I have a good connection. I also re-grounded the black wire in the trunk for the taillights. Any help at all will be appreciated. Thanks.

Offline Kire

Re: wiring
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2009, 01:45:55 AM »
You may have already done so, but check to make sure all the fuses are good and and no wires are jammed in by a fuse that might cause problems.

Offline 78ta

• The 8 track and gauge/stereo console adapter guy.
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2009, 04:23:40 AM »
May be two separate problems. Check the ground to the dash for the dash and radio clock light problem. The dash ground is down under the dash on the drivers side near the courtesy light. It's a 1/4 or 5/16 inch hex screw that screws into the dash metal which is thin so the hole is easy to strip causing a bad connection. It can also just vibrate loose.

The fact that your dome light comes on when you hit the brake pedal makes me think you've got a bad ground to the brake lights and or a bad brake light bulb. The filament in the bulb can go bad in such a way as to not light the bulb but still provide a current path to ground though it has a high resistance or it would blow a fuse. If there is a path to ground somewhere, the current will find it. In your case, it sounds like it's going through the dome light.