Author Topic: Hood release cable  (Read 8040 times)

Offline Bruni

Hood release cable
« on: December 08, 2007, 08:42:22 PM »
Hi, I'm new to the thread as I finally purchased a '77 T/A.  I need a new hood release cable, but do not want to use the short, under bumper cable.  I am looking for a long cable that goes into the interior.  Anybody with one for sale or info where I can purchase one would be greatly appreciated. 

'77 T/A 6.6
400ci. Auto

Offline RENOVATIONS

• Administrator
  • Lifetime Member
Re: Hood release cable
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2007, 12:43:13 AM »
Welcome.
I suppose it could be done but it would require some fabricating...not to mention new brackets, both inside the car and under the hood. Maybe you'll get lucky and be able to modify the set-up from another GM model...
Jeff

Projects:
1987 Fiero GT
1982 Trans Am
1986 Corvette

Offline Hitman

• Administrator
  • Lifetime Member
    • http://www.78ta.com
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2007, 12:40:40 PM »
Yes, they do not sell anything like what you are looking for because they never came that way.  You would have to modify a set up from some other car to be able to get something like that to work.
Brett Campbell
"Hitman"
www.78ta.com
1978 Trans Am

Offline Joker (§ir£Ğragon)

• Lifetime Member
  • When you think it can't get any worse...God laughs
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2007, 01:00:51 PM »
It shouldn't be that hard. A bracket under the dash for the handle would probably be the hardest thing to fab up. A cable from something like a Monte Carlo would work. A couple of cable clamps under the hood to keep it in place and a hole drilled in the firewall and you're done.
Larry

Offline Bruni

« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2007, 02:05:25 PM »