Author Topic: 6 year project  (Read 5641 times)

Offline qcksilver79

6 year project
« on: November 10, 2013, 11:10:44 PM »
I've been working on my project for almost six years now on week ends and days off. I started with three parts cars but only one was solid enough and not too far gone with rust to be the chosen one (1979 formula).
 I purchased all three from a guy who would not sell them separately. I gave $ 1000.00 for the three cars. the other two were a 1978 trans am 4speed and the other a 1977 spirit which were rotten to the core. The 1979 formula was very solid except for the 4 lowest areas which I replaced with new floor pans.
 I have been on this site on and off for a couple of  years reading, wishing and soaking up info from some of you all with the knowledge that has helped me with some of the road blocks and problem areas. Great site and thank you all BTW.
I have come to a point that I thought I would start sharing the story of my bird.
I started by stripping the 79 completely, stripping it of the 301, auto tranny all interior, front cap, rear bumper, gas tank, limited slip rear end fuel lines, brake lines ect...

I then pulled the whole drive train out of the 78 4 speed. The 400 had mice living in the intake and wasn't sure if the motor was savable or not. I sold the 4 speed on ebay to help buy the 5 speed tremec that is now in the car and rebuilt the 3:42 posi rear end and installed it. The 400 motor was taken to the engine shop where they were magnafluxed and was able to be bored .60 ( new everything, pistons crank mild cam, ceramic headers and carb).
I bought new fuel tank, fuel and brake lines poly urethane bushing throughout ect...
I never cared for the 79 front end but love the full tail lights across the back so I swapped out the brackets on the front to accommodate the 78 front cap.  Needless to say this will be far from #'s matching but more less a freak creation of what I want in my bird.