Author Topic: 1978 Formula questions  (Read 3559 times)

Offline pontiacting

1978 Formula questions
« on: July 15, 2017, 06:03:06 PM »
Hi all, I'm new to the site and recently acquired a 1978 Formula, original black paint and black interior. Appears to have the "Hurst Package"??? HAs T-tops, factory ac, power windows, and a dual gate shifter. What other options came with the Hurst option? The original wheels are gone, now sitting on a set of chevy Blazer steel rims which is temporary. It is need of a restoration but I was able to fire it up but a long way from running and stopping. An

I am new to the Firebird but have restored a few classic trucks, VW's and Jeeps. All the newbie questions apply to me. How to ID engine? Build sheet treasure hunt locations? Keep as a Formula or do the SE clone thang?

Here is the vin: 2U87Z8L156819

Whats is it worth as a fairly complete original car and what as a restored Forumula vs a SE clone?

Thanks and i look forward to a few binge sessions of old posts and threads to get more acquainted with the group. Thanks for any advice and help. Jb

Offline NWTransAms

Re: 1978 Formula questions
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2017, 01:02:42 PM »
A showroom condition, very, very low mileage all OEM yellow survivor Formula, it was either a 77 or 78 - I cannot remember -, sold for around $17K on eBay recently.  You would have to compare the condition of your Formula against this benchmark to help gauge its market value.  Please bear in mind that the Formula I mentioned was in showroom condition, had lived indoors forever, and looked to be perfect.  It was not something that had a lot of miles and use. A showroom Formula with OEM paint and OEM graphics has a more demand than just a nice looking driver quality Formula that has been well used and that sports a ratty interior.