Author Topic: Year One 17" Snowflake Wheel Experience BAD!  (Read 3414 times)

Offline TA400FL

Year One 17" Snowflake Wheel Experience BAD!
« on: January 22, 2018, 08:58:41 AM »
Well, I usually take the type of experience I just had with Year One and basically try and put it behind me and just move on......but......this time I thought it would be my duty to share.

I have been restoring my 78 Trans Am for the past 3 years.  It is the first car I ever purchased on my own back in 1981.  Nearing the home stretch of my restoration I made the call to go with the Year One 17" Snowflake Wheels and the Year One Stainless Center Caps.  Figured the lower profile tires would work well with the Pro-Touring F-body Suspension System I had installed. 

Last October 2017 was the time to get them put on the car. Which, I think everyone can relate, is one of the more fun parts of a restoration! Wheels went on with no issues, SS Center caps not so much.  I am not exaggerating when I say I spent 4 hours trying to get the caps to fit into the ID of the wheel.  Bending all of the tabs on the caps, greasing everything, using rubber mallet, etc.  Nothing would allow these things to fit.  The caps had too big of an O.D. where they go into the wheels.  Plus, the repeated attempts at getting them into the wheels was really marring up the I.D. of the Aluminum wheel.