Author Topic: 15x7 snowflake painting help  (Read 2557 times)

Offline xxinlinexx

15x7 snowflake painting help
« on: July 27, 2012, 09:33:00 AM »
So i want to restore a set of 15x7 snowflakes i purchased. After looking at these two articles i'm a bit confused so hoping you all can help me out.

http://www.78ta.com/resto/rims.htm
http://www.78ta.com/wheelspec.php

mine DO NOT have the one inch lip, so to make these look as close to original as possible do i or do i not paint the spokes?

and if i do not paint the spokes how would i go about masking them off so no paint gets on them?

Offline Audixie

Re: 15x7 snowflake painting help
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2012, 11:54:53 AM »
I'm no expert, but I have decided I am not going to paint the spokes.  I was told by someone that knows more than I do not to mask.  Just paint the gold over the spokes and then use a piece of steel wool or something like that to remove the paint.  It would take forever the mask.

I have a set of 15 X 7's I am going to work on also.  I looked at the restoration services, but just can't afford the $500-600 bucks.
81 Trans Am in restoration

Offline xxinlinexx

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2012, 02:26:27 PM »
I looked into doing the professionally as well and i was being charged $175 a wheel.

Was thinking of doing what you just said, painting over the spokes and then just taking it off with steel wool and giving it a good polish.

I'll go ahead and post the progress here, let me know how it goes for you.

Offline T/A Addict

« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2012, 05:59:25 PM »
I just recently finished up restoring some seriously beat up 15 x 8s. I wanted the highly polished finish on mine so it took me a little extra time. The pics show one of the wheels after I blasted it and the end product.

As far as masking, I did take the extra time to mask mine all up, Just some 1/2" masking tape and a sharp razor blade, time consuming but worth it in my opinion.

Jeff
2016 Victory Cross Country