Author Topic: Dissappointed in my TA, probably an easy fix, need advice  (Read 6690 times)

Offline 1onehotTA

Dissappointed in my TA, probably an easy fix, need advice
« on: June 22, 2006, 04:29:44 PM »
I have a beautiful looking, sounding, red W72.   And today I was kinda dissappointed in it, but im sure I can find the answers I need here as this site has helped me much in the past.  First off I am not an auto mechanic, but I do know alot about everything (dont we all), I am a service tech though and a big time do it myselfer.  Anyway, I love to drive my TA and I love that feeling that if I wanted to in could take off really really fast. However today I really really had to and my back tires broke loose like nobody's business and it took off for a second then sorta hesitated and started to run like *&%$.  Now I never really get on this car, I just cruise with it and when I do it runs very very good, and it accelerates fine, it does knock somewhat, but super unleaded tames that some, seems like if I gas it hard, it doesnt knock, if I ease it, it knocks.   Anyway, it also I have noticed if i am on the highway and punch it, like when someone is tailgating me, it puts out some smoke and a very bad smell, the same smell fills my basement when I bring it back in my garage from driving, but it doesnt smoke or anything, it also doesnt leak anything.  Now other than Catalytic converters that are new, it has no other emissions, it has every new tune up component under the hood, edelbrock carb and intake, distributor, alt.  The ignition timing I had a small problem with as my balancer marks are not correct, I believe they slipped out of pos. so I had to trial and error it.  I also never set my carb for wide open throttle, could that be my problem?  It is a 650 CFM Edelbrock, the car never gives me any problems other than the knock, but today that sorta bugged me, and now that smell makes me wonder what it is, it is kinda a bad smell, it is a hard to explain smell also, it is