Author Topic: T top Seal Problems  (Read 3368 times)

Offline TA400FL

T top Seal Problems
« on: December 25, 2017, 08:29:34 PM »
Hi.  Newbie here.  I have been restoring my 78 Trans Am for about 3 years now.  It is the first car I ever bought back in '81 and kept it ever since.  I did all the mechanical work myself but not good at any body work or paint.
    I just got the car back from the body shop.  I had provided them an entire weather strip kit for the whole car including the Fisher T top seals.  When I tried to install the t tops they were extremely hard to push down and latch.  It was overstressing the slots in the T Tops that lock into the tabs in the center.  Once I installed all the interior T top Plastic trim pieces the T tops will not latch at all.  It seems as though the Seal is way too thick??  The seal is fully down in the body channel OK.  The top edges of the seal is level with the painted surface of the body on top which tells me there is no way the seal will compress enough to allow the tops to get latched.  It is a SoffSeal Kit 311BT which I thought was a high quality one.  I am totally stuck right now.  The whole seal is of course glued down and have no idea how to get my tops on.  Has anybody ever had an issue like this?  I can try and attach any photos that might help.
Thanks.
ERIC

Offline 78w72

• Adv. Member
Re: T top Seal Problems
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2017, 11:32:48 AM »
i posted some info & pics on the soffseal t top weatherstrips awhile back but cant seem to find it now.  heres what i found dealing with the seals available today.  the soffseals are the best option for seals right now aside from finding NOS ones or good original ones.  they are a little thick but will compress some over time, but for new seals you almost always have to adjust the metal receiver tabs to make it easier for the tops to latch.