Author Topic: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????  (Read 6486 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rebel 5150

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 559
  • Flagler County, Florida -Viewer Discretion Advised
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????
« Reply #30 on: February 03, 2009, 01:48:50 PM »
Wasn't someone over at TAC looking into doing a repro of that? ???
Harold - Pure Trans Am Nut

“Money can't buy you happiness, but it can buy you a yacht big enough to pull up right alongside it.” - David Lee Roth

Offline Trans am Oz

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1183
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????
« Reply #31 on: February 04, 2009, 12:47:23 AM »
While ive got ya Hammer ;D

what about this one?..not sure what the larger duct is for...is that off an earlier TA?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330305489147&ssPageName=ADME:B:EF:MOTORS:1123

cheers



Offline transam dave

  • Adv. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2913
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????
« Reply #32 on: February 04, 2009, 01:20:56 AM »
Its the fender well duct work.Then the piece i was looking for fits into that ,then the paper,then plastic,then air cleaner

Offline ta78w72

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6297
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????
« Reply #33 on: February 04, 2009, 09:39:40 PM »
525327 is just the common elbow found on all the newer second gen 403 and 400's.  They all used the same one and there must have been hundreds of thousands of them made.  The problem is some break and some get tossed.  Since they don't make them anymore, they are hard to find.  I have a broken one but haven't found a good one at the salvage yard in quite some time.  But that doesn't mean they don't get them in.   The one listed above in the auction looks correct.  It even has the bracket.  I have three of those longer ones.  Those are fairly easy to come by.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1977-78-79-80-81-pontiac-trans-am-shaker-air-inlet-duct_W0QQitemZ180324676278QQcmdZViewItemQQptZMotors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories?hash=item180324676278&_trksid=p4506.c0.m245&_trkparms=72%3A727%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

By the way...do a search on ebay for trans am air duct and you'll find three or four of them.

You can by the adapter new...but it doesn't have the clips.  There is one for sale on ebay with the clips right now.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/70-81-Trans-Am-Air-Intake-Duct_W0QQitemZ120370934491QQcmdZViewItemQQptZMotors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories?hash=item120370934491&_trksid=p4506.c0.m 

Good luck finding the original flex tube...they have the plastic flex tubes on ebay though.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1976-Trans-Am-455-air-intake-duct-GM-NOS_W0QQitemZ280310319379QQcmdZViewItemQQptZMotors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories?hash=item280310319379&_trksid=p4506.c0.m245&_trkparms=72%3A727%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

So, now you should have everything you need.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2009, 09:46:21 PM by ta78w72 »

Offline Trans am Oz

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1183
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????
« Reply #34 on: February 05, 2009, 01:20:42 AM »
Thanks for the info guys...

i never knew about the other duct 8)

now off to find one for our car :)

Offline transam dave

  • Adv. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2913
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????
« Reply #35 on: February 05, 2009, 06:27:48 PM »
I bought a complete 79 formula parts car ,with al the parts i need.

Offline transam dave

  • Adv. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2913
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????
« Reply #36 on: February 07, 2009, 11:20:09 PM »
I bought a complete parts car with all the parts i need.This is a 79 formula with a 403 olds real clean.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2009, 12:16:37 AM by transam dave »

Offline ta78w72

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6297
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????
« Reply #37 on: February 08, 2009, 11:44:16 AM »
That wouldn't have the plastic adapter that fits into the air cleaner though.  I think the 76 uses that.

Offline transam dave

  • Adv. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2913
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????
« Reply #38 on: February 12, 2009, 05:57:35 PM »
The formula has all the same parts a transam has.They are 403 olds parts though

Offline transam dave

  • Adv. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2913
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????
« Reply #39 on: February 16, 2009, 06:42:35 PM »
Thanks for all your help guys .I can locate these parts, faster then  ever before.

Offline transam dave

  • Adv. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2913
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????
« Reply #40 on: February 19, 2009, 08:01:45 PM »
REALLY big question for all the transam/firebird techs out there.THE ducts im looking for is it on all firebirds also????  PLEASE reply  dave.

Offline Rick

  • Global Moderator
  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7939
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????
« Reply #41 on: February 19, 2009, 08:15:07 PM »
That's a good question, and I can't find the answer in the parts books I have. :-\

Offline ta78w72

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6297
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????
« Reply #42 on: February 19, 2009, 08:55:53 PM »
You want the short answer or the long answer.  I'll give you the short answer....NO

Offline transam dave

  • Adv. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2913
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????
« Reply #43 on: February 19, 2009, 09:00:25 PM »
I have a firebird with a 301 in it its #s match car it has the elbow in it but the opening to the air cleaner is smaller. whats up with that.

Offline ta78w72

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6297
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transam air duct any one have one or know how $------?????????????
« Reply #44 on: February 19, 2009, 10:19:04 PM »
There were variations on engine.  The 400's and 403's are the same with the exception of the earlier 400's and the W72 engine.  The earlier 400's have that plastic adapter that connected to the air cleaner base as did the W72.  I think 75 and back a few years had a different elbow.

The 350L didn't have any of that air duct stuff...just a hose off the air cleaner to a plastic adapter.  I don't know about the 301's though.