Author Topic: New Cluster Question Merged  (Read 2736 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 79 Rebel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Referrals: 0
New Cluster Question Merged
« on: March 06, 2009, 09:42:47 AM »
my 79 had a 81 cluster
my new 79 cluster will be here today
will the plug in fit

[attachment deleted by admin over 60 days old]

Offline OrigOwner77

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 235
  • My car's shakers are mounted to the hood!
  • Referrals: 0
Re: will the plug in fit 79 cluster
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2009, 10:39:55 AM »
The plugs are all the same as far as I know. What we need to know is the wire colors and locations in the plug that's in the car. Then compare that to the service manual diagram for the cluster wiring to see if it matches up.

Like Father, Like Son

Dad's car: 77 T/A, Original Owner, W72, 48,000 miles, not quite stock
My car: 80 T/A, WS6, 400 w/mild work

Offline ta78w72

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6297
  • Referrals: 0
Re: will the plug in fit 79 cluster
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2009, 02:51:46 PM »
That doesn't look right.  Give us the wire colors by pin number.  The pins are numbers on the white connector.  You may have a non rally harness.

Offline Joker (告r茺agon)

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4994
  • When you think it can't get any worse...God laughs
  • Referrals: 0
Re: will the plug in fit 79 cluster
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2009, 03:21:35 PM »
No, that's the right configuration for an '81 according to the diagram that Hitman posted here. http://www.78ta.com/smf/index.php?topic=13791.msg144431#msg144431

But if you go back to that thread and compare the two diagrams he gave you you'll answer your own question. the connectors are the same, but the wiring layout is completely different.
Larry


Offline ta78w72

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6297
  • Referrals: 0
Re: will the plug in fit 79 cluster
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2009, 05:02:36 PM »
No, that's the right configuration for an '81 according to the diagram that Hitman posted here. http://www.78ta.com/smf/index.php?topic=13791.msg144431#msg144431

But if you go back to that thread and compare the two diagrams he gave you you'll answer your own question. the connectors are the same, but the wiring layout is completely different.

Be careful Larry, that first picture is of an 81 without rally gauges.  When I said it didn't look right, I was responding to his assertion that his car had rally gauge wiring.  That's why the wire colors and pin locations would be very, very helpful.

Offline 79 Rebel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Referrals: 0
New Cluster Question
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2009, 09:07:10 PM »
got my new cluster today
put it in
and well i like it but there are a few problems of course lol..

1.the right turn signal light does not work instead it flashes the bright light : lights

after awhile of driving with the new cluster the fasten seatbeat light and brake light finally came on
brake light remains on though

dahs lighst were not working at night but after driving ten mintues the speedo light did come on
but no tach light ir center light for the water and oil pressure
what still could be causing this WHAT WIRE

im guessing everything is taking time to work due to the fact that it has sat so long the cluster

also the speedo does not have a clip on the back where the cable plugs in
is this normal

« Last Edit: March 06, 2009, 09:41:21 PM by Little Bastard 79 »

Offline ta78w72

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6297
  • Referrals: 0
Re: New Cluster Question
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2009, 09:55:04 PM »
Like I said in the last thread, we need to know the wire colors for each pin in that connector.  And, it would be really nice if you would post a picture of the back of that cluster.  Your wire's are in the wrong slots for your cluster.  I bet a bunch of other stuff won't work too.  Until you do this for us, we can't help you.

Offline Joker (告r茺agon)

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4994
  • When you think it can't get any worse...God laughs
  • Referrals: 0
Re: New Cluster Question
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2009, 12:41:06 AM »
And please try and keep things relating to the same issue in one thread. this is getting confusing having to go and search the old ones to see what has and what hasn't been done.
Larry


Offline 79 Rebel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Referrals: 0
Re: New Cluster Question
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2009, 12:49:29 AM »
well geez i guess this is lecture me day

Offline Joker (告r茺agon)

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4994
  • When you think it can't get any worse...God laughs
  • Referrals: 0
Re: New Cluster Question
« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2009, 01:16:50 AM »
Sorry, We're not trying to be nasty. It's just hard to follow things when it's stretched between so many threads. And we do need to know (or better still - see) those wires. Once we know where each wire is now one of us can tell you where they need to be.
Larry


Offline Hitman

  • Administrator
  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8256
  • Referrals: 0
    • http://www.78ta.com
Re: New Cluster Question Merged
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2009, 11:06:39 AM »
I tried to merge the topics, but don't know if that worked too well.
Brett Campbell
"Hitman"
www.78ta.com
www.ohiofirebirds.com
www.tanationals.com
1978 Trans Am

Offline 79 Rebel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Referrals: 0
Re: New Cluster Question Merged
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2009, 10:58:49 AM »
well ive decided im just gonna leave it the way it is
the only problems are
instead of turn signal the high beam light flashes
and the tach light doesnt work but speedo light does
im not gonna full with it

should the back of the speedo have the clip or no
because it doesnt

Offline OrigOwner77

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 235
  • My car's shakers are mounted to the hood!
  • Referrals: 0
Re: New Cluster Question Merged
« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2009, 05:46:22 PM »
well ive decided im just gonna leave it the way it is
the only problems are
instead of turn signal the high beam light flashes
and the tach light doesnt work but speedo light does
im not gonna full with it

should the back of the speedo have the clip or no
because it doesnt

The back of the speedometer is supposed to have a clip to hold the speedometer cable on.

And, you can leave the incorrect wiring on your car if you like. You're the one risking problems (including risk of a fire) caused by incorrect wiring though...so if you're willing to risk that, then leave it. Personally, 5 minutes to take a picture and type what wire colors are where on your connector is a lot smarter in my opinion though...but to each their own I guess. :? Good luck!

Like Father, Like Son

Dad's car: 77 T/A, Original Owner, W72, 48,000 miles, not quite stock
My car: 80 T/A, WS6, 400 w/mild work

Offline 79 Rebel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Referrals: 0
Re: New Cluster Question Merged
« Reply #13 on: March 08, 2009, 09:56:23 PM »
well once i take the picture and see the wire locations
is it easy to relocate the wires
i mean can you guys help me ?

and i guess i will have to take the clip off my old cluster for the speedo cable
i would love the help you guys are willing to help me

i dont i know what wire is in what location when i look at it

Offline ta78w72

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6297
  • Referrals: 0
Re: New Cluster Question Merged
« Reply #14 on: March 08, 2009, 10:14:46 PM »
Just swap speedo's.  As for the wires, we'll tell you how to change the locations if necessary.  The white cluster has numbers on it if you look closely.  Just tell us the color of wire that corresponds with each number.  With that information and a picture of the back of the cluster, we can tell you exactly what you need to do.