Author Topic: Something Doesnt Make Sense  (Read 6629 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline 79 Rebel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Something Doesnt Make Sense
« Reply #15 on: March 14, 2009, 10:02:42 PM »
ok if you guys look at the pic of my cluster
the wiring the way im doing it with the list is putting 3 wires on top
look at my cluster : the pic is upside down"
its 1 at top and 3 at bottom
see what i mean
the wiring cant work that you gave me because the 3 are on bottom where they make contact not on top
i really need help on this
« Last Edit: March 14, 2009, 10:04:38 PM by Little Bastard 79 »

Offline ta78w72

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6297
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Something Doesnt Make Sense
« Reply #16 on: March 14, 2009, 10:06:01 PM »
Are you reading the numbers on the connector and matching the colors I gave you?  The numbers are moulded into the sides of the connector.  In your picture of the circuit, gray would be top left...pin number one, just like Larry's picture.

So on the right side...starting from pin 1
Gray
black
pink/w white stripe
double brown
pink
double dark blue /light blue w white stripe
light green
dark blue

There, I just wrote this from my connector wit the cut wires and compared it to larry's picture.....the same.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2009, 10:12:52 PM by ta78w72 »

Offline 79 Rebel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Something Doesnt Make Sense
« Reply #17 on: March 14, 2009, 10:19:59 PM »
ok ta lol
im sorry im so confused
i have all the wires the right way in the connecotr but if you look at my cluster
that order wont work on the 9 through 16 side because the printed circuit tabs are not in the right place to make a connection do you see what i mean

hes my cluster

and heres the pic he posted it dont match up
i circled what i mean

[attachment deleted by admin over 60 days old]
« Last Edit: March 14, 2009, 10:22:54 PM by Little Bastard 79 »

Offline ta78w72

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6297
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Something Doesnt Make Sense
« Reply #18 on: March 14, 2009, 10:43:33 PM »
It works, Larry's picture needs to be rotated clockwise 180 degrees.  Don't look at the pictures, it's confusing you.  Look at the connector and match the colors with the numbers

Offline 79 Rebel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Something Doesnt Make Sense
« Reply #19 on: March 14, 2009, 10:46:55 PM »
see thats what is confusing me it looks like one the one side theres 3 at the top but on mine the 3 have to be on the bottom see my pic
i adjusted it so it is right side up
i will do tomorrow ill just go look at it outside
so should i hook up the double dark green or it doesnt go in here
also where should i stick the extra black wire just in a black slot


this is a 79 cluster right
cause the ad when i put it said 75 through 79
maybe thats why the wires arent matching



[attachment deleted by admin over 60 days old]
« Last Edit: March 14, 2009, 11:14:14 PM by Little Bastard 79 »

Offline ta78w72

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6297
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Something Doesnt Make Sense
« Reply #20 on: March 14, 2009, 11:14:28 PM »
I think the wires are the same for 75 through 79.

Connect the double dark green.  That's in connector slot 13, next to an empty 12 and the double blue..right?

As far as the extra black wire, are you sure it's extra.  Before you said you didn't have a dark green and thought one of the black wires was spliced to the dark green.  Anyway, use an ohm meter to make sure that dark green wire is for the water temp sender.


Offline 79 Rebel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Something Doesnt Make Sense
« Reply #21 on: March 14, 2009, 11:21:38 PM »
i dont have a meter
i wish i did
i thought maybe one was spliced yes if it is spliced then what is the purpose of the double green
2 of the black wires are going in with the other wires
and the extra one is running up towards the head light switch

the double green was just taped up and not being used at all
as well as a dark brown wire also that is not being used
i dont know what to do with it
« Last Edit: March 15, 2009, 12:29:19 AM by Little Bastard 79 »

Offline Joker (§ir£Ğragon)

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4994
  • When you think it can't get any worse...God laughs
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Something Doesnt Make Sense
« Reply #22 on: March 15, 2009, 01:24:40 AM »
Larry


Offline 79 Rebel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Something Doesnt Make Sense
« Reply #23 on: March 15, 2009, 01:29:52 AM »
Thanks So Much
Sir and 78
i couldnt have done it without you guys
and i hope i wasnt a bad pain

sir do yo have any clue what the double dark green is ? it has never been hooked up because it was taped off
also have a dark brown that is not hooked up because its taped off

also do you guys have a chart on what each color wire controls ?
« Last Edit: March 15, 2009, 01:32:48 AM by Little Bastard 79 »

Offline Joker (§ir£Ğragon)

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4994
  • When you think it can't get any worse...God laughs
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Something Doesnt Make Sense
« Reply #24 on: March 15, 2009, 01:53:00 AM »
Ok, last one for tonight. Gotta get up early and then work another shift at work tomorrow night. :(

Larry


Offline 79 Rebel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Something Doesnt Make Sense
« Reply #25 on: March 15, 2009, 02:20:01 AM »
alright thanks
ill be putting it in tomorrow
before i do
i know i have 3 black
tried to trace them but they all seem black

so what is the double dark green im guessing that is for the water gauge right?
and where should i stick the extra black one at ?
just in an empty slot or can i leave the wire out for the clock since all the second hand does is go around and waste battery and put the 3 rd black wire there
thank you
« Last Edit: March 15, 2009, 02:22:45 AM by Little Bastard 79 »

Offline ta78w72

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6297
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Something Doesnt Make Sense
« Reply #26 on: March 15, 2009, 10:07:11 AM »
Buy a multimeter.  You can't do electrical work without it.  You can find a cheap one that will give you ohm's and volts.  That's about all you need.  And, it doesn't need to be all that precise.  The one I have (thanks to my wife) cost almost $400.  But until Christmas, I used a 30 year old analog multimeter that didn't cost much.  I even received one free with an order from some sort of catalog store a while back...oh yeah it's a cheap thing...but it works.

Larry, you're the best!  Those pictures clear things up!  Good work!

As for the dark green wire, yeah that probably is the temp sender wire.  But it would be nice to be sure.  An ohm meter would tell you right away.  And, as for the grounds, an ohm meter would tell you if those wires are really grounded.  You kind of need to know that because if they've been cut, you're circuit won't work.  Those ground wires are gathered into a big splice somewhere in the dash harness.  You could put the extra black one in one of the empty slots.  But I'm puzzled as to why you have an extra one.  That's why an ohm meter would be a very nice thing to have.  Don't you know anyone who has one and would show you how to use it and help you a little?  It would take about five minutes.

Make sure you've got a black wire for ground on the dash frame.  It should be on the dash frame, drivers side, bottom inside.  It would have an eyelet with a fastener holding it on.
This site may help you:
http://www.firebirdtransamparts.com/techinfo/harness/harness.htm
« Last Edit: March 15, 2009, 10:19:15 AM by ta78w72 »

Offline 79 Rebel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Something Doesnt Make Sense
« Reply #27 on: March 15, 2009, 10:55:07 AM »
good news is
now both turn signals are working...
wont know about dash lights until tonight

Offline 79 Rebel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Something Doesnt Make Sense
« Reply #28 on: March 15, 2009, 09:54:37 PM »
hey guys
in order for the dash lights to work
does the cluster have to be bolted in to make a ground or no
i just went of there to test the dash lights and they did not work
but i dont have the cluster bolted in

both turn signal lights do work though so that is a plus

Offline mikeb78ta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 357
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Something Doesnt Make Sense
« Reply #29 on: March 15, 2009, 10:05:50 PM »
No you should be getting a good ground.  Make sure all the bolts on the circuit are tight though.
1978 Trans Am 403 WS6, BLack, Camel Deluxe Interior