Author Topic: 1971 trans am restoration  (Read 940 times)

Offline lucyblu71

• my 71 trans am blue on blue project
  • Referrals: 0
1971 trans am restoration
« on: June 25, 2009, 04:03:48 PM »
hey guys im pretty new to the restoration field so i need some tips.
im in the process of starting a restoration on a 1971 trans am (the real deal)
the original drivetrain is gone but the main issue for me is body work. the car
needs full floors, lower quarters and a tail panel. my question is should i strip the whole
car spray a coat of primer and do the body work over that or do my body work, replacing
panels and all and then strip the car and spray primer?

thanks so much for any advice,

neal

1971 trans am project
1969 SS 396 camaro project
1969 mach 1 project
all in progress lol

Offline jphillips3333

• Lifetime Member
Re: 1971 trans am restoration
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2009, 04:15:40 PM »
Advice is free ... you just have to post pix.  We'd love to see it.

Check this link out ..
http://www.78ta.com/smf/index.php?topic=6341.0
John

1 of 1107                     1 of 37,015                    1 of 1817

Offline lucyblu71

• my 71 trans am blue on blue project
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2009, 09:32:22 PM »
hope this pic works  ???

[attachment deleted by admin over 60 days old]

Offline jphillips3333

• Lifetime Member
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2009, 09:44:11 PM »
Picture worked ....

I'm not a bodyshop guy.  To me, you'd want to do all your patch panels and welding, get that right first.  You'd knock off the welds, add some filler and go to the next problem area.

I think you want to verify panel alignment, doors, trunks, etc...

To paint, you'd pull everything you could and then carefully reassemble the car after paint.
John

1 of 1107                     1 of 37,015                    1 of 1817

Offline bobg

« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2009, 07:46:19 AM »