Author Topic: My 1976 Firebird Esprit. Metalime Green with deluxe white/ black interior.  (Read 51103 times)

Offline Greenbird76

• The way Grandma wishes she could of ordered it!!
My name is Ron and I have been restoring my car for the past 2 years.  I have been a back yard mechanic since I was 16.  I bought the car for $2800 in 09 and did so because the car was not missing much and came from the factory with this unusual color combo according to the VIN plate.  It also had a near mint white vinyl interior that is original. I have owned a variety of other 2nd gens, but did not get fully back into the hobby until about the time I bought this car.  What I did, however was collect a lot of parts over the years.  This made this resto so much easier.  Everthing mechanical has been refurbished or replaced.  New brakes, lines, TRW front springs and Eaton rears, new shocks, stripped and refurbished 1 3/16 front sway bar and 5/8 rear bar from a 80 Formula- mounted them with new bushings from Energy, new fuel tank, new e brake cables, 700r4 conversion including having drive shaft cut and rebalanced, rebuilt 410 posi, new alternater, water pump, powere steering lines, fuel pump, Edlebrock performer EPS manifold, rebuilt Edlebrock 600cfm carb, new suspension bushings front and rear, new front end except cnter link,  Stripped floor inside and out- patched a few small holes,  new Energy body bushings, rebuilt seat tracks, The list is too extensive right now for me to think of!  The rally IIs were stripped and repainted and the trim rings and center caps are original.   I also did extensive body work to the rear of the car- welded in donor tail valence, new tail panel, donor trunk extensions, donor qter extensions and 21 inches of donor frame rail on each side.  In additon, i patched the trunk in afew places and resealed it.  Of course, I broke about 300 spot welds removing the old rusted pieces from the 76 and removeing the rust free pieces from 2 donor Firebirds.  I started my