Author Topic: transmission lines  (Read 1653 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline VandykeT/A

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 302
  • Referrals: 0
transmission lines
« on: October 02, 2011, 08:21:47 PM »
How are the transmissions lines suppose to ran through the car. When I bought it they were ran up the passenger side framerail but when we put new ones on my uncle said they were suppose to be ran under the motor mount so thats how we ran them. It seems fine but I'm wondering how the factory ones were. Also how did you guys tighten the lines up. While the transmission was on its way up or did you fight them in like i did. We cut a 1/2 inch wrench so it was about 3 inches long so we could get to the lines better. thanks
80 T/A 400, 78 nose.
86 T/A 305 5 speed
02 WS6 452rwhp, H/C/I

Offline 4SPEED

  • Ohio Firebirds
  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7321
  • NFTAC & POCI Member
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transmission lines
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2011, 08:43:47 PM »
side of the frame rail .   I bent a wrench to fit the lines.  cutting one will work too , what ever it takes.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2011, 08:45:37 PM by 4SPEED »
77 W72 TransAM  (SOLD)
79 TransAM 4SPEED

Offline eroc022

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7655
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transmission lines
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2011, 08:56:03 PM »
side of the frame rail .   I bent a wrench to fit the lines.  cutting one will work too , what ever it takes.

all mine have always ran under the motor mounts paralell to the oil pan/block flange, even the new repop prebent lines I ordered are that way....
Eroc
Fixing the car that Restore A Muscle Car jacked up....

Offline 4SPEED

  • Ohio Firebirds
  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7321
  • NFTAC & POCI Member
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transmission lines
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2011, 09:10:43 PM »
Sorry maybe Im wrong.  been years.  and mine arnt on the 77 yet. 
77 W72 TransAM  (SOLD)
79 TransAM 4SPEED

Offline VandykeT/A

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 302
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transmission lines
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2011, 09:14:14 PM »
The auto parts store gave me two steel brake lines that were 60 inches long. They'll be ok won't they?
80 T/A 400, 78 nose.
86 T/A 305 5 speed
02 WS6 452rwhp, H/C/I

Offline 4SPEED

  • Ohio Firebirds
  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7321
  • NFTAC & POCI Member
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transmission lines
« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2011, 10:06:46 PM »
did check how long they are. but 60" sounds like more then enough.


pic of the repros you can get from in-line tube.
77 W72 TransAM  (SOLD)
79 TransAM 4SPEED

Offline 78&89TA

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 275
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transmission lines
« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2011, 10:23:38 PM »
i was going to ask this same question at some point as i also have some new repro's to install , not looking forward to it ;)
Jim
1978 T/A
1989 GTA

Offline SavingTheBird76

  • Adv. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1887
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transmission lines
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2011, 08:15:55 PM »
Not a hard install really.
Running under the motor mounts are correct.
Use a pipe bender to make your transitions.
About $5-$10.

HAVE YOU SMOKED A MUSTANG TODAY?

Offline Elz

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 350
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transmission lines
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2015, 07:22:29 AM »
I know this is an old topic but I need some help. Does anyone have a more detailed picture of the the tranny lines are routed? I have a 78 with the TH350 and 400 motor. I bought some pre bent lines and I am having a hard time figuring them out. A previous poster says under the motor mount and I don't see how that is possible.

Offline Elz

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 350
  • Referrals: 0
Re: transmission lines
« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2015, 07:37:32 AM »
here are pics of how they look right now. My motor and tranny were out of the car when I bought it, so I have no reference pictures.



They seem to want to his my brake line the way they are now.