Author Topic: shaker activation  (Read 4853 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 1981turbotransam

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 341
  • trubo charged pace car
  • Referrals: 0
shaker activation
« on: November 28, 2007, 02:40:05 AM »
how do i make my shaker funcitional on my 1977 trans am like the trans ams of the past like 70-72
GREATER LOVE HATH NO MAN THAN TO LAY DOWN HIS LIFE FOR A FRIEND
1980 Indy Pace Car Turbo Trans am 301T
1977 Pontiac Trans Am 400 Auto SE Hardtop
looking to buy a 1980-81 Trans Am

Offline RENOVATIONS

  • Administrator
  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10524
  • Referrals: 0
Re: shaker activation
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2007, 02:48:53 AM »
Jeff

Projects:
_____________
1978 Trans Am
1970 Camaro
1970 'Cuda

Offline 1981turbotransam

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 341
  • trubo charged pace car
  • Referrals: 0
Re: shaker activation
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2007, 01:09:08 PM »
does this guy have a phone number that i can get ahold of him
GREATER LOVE HATH NO MAN THAN TO LAY DOWN HIS LIFE FOR A FRIEND
1980 Indy Pace Car Turbo Trans am 301T
1977 Pontiac Trans Am 400 Auto SE Hardtop
looking to buy a 1980-81 Trans Am

Offline RENOVATIONS

  • Administrator
  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10524
  • Referrals: 0
Re: shaker activation
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2007, 01:12:40 PM »
It's right there on the site....
512 - 789 - 3005
Jeff

Projects:
_____________
1978 Trans Am
1970 Camaro
1970 'Cuda

Offline warbirdta79

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 59
  • Referrals: 0
Re: shaker activation
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2008, 10:45:57 AM »
does anyone have expirience with installing these? Im looking to get on for my 79 and would like the unique styling and feel of it.
I took the restrictor plate off to give it a little more power. Lets keep that on the down low, its kinda illegal.

Offline Joker (§ir£Ğragon)

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4994
  • When you think it can't get any worse...God laughs
  • Referrals: 0
Re: shaker activation
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2008, 10:52:33 AM »
I think Rick has one. Not sure if it's one from the same seller or not.
Larry


Offline Rick

  • Global Moderator
  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7939
  • Referrals: 0
Re: shaker activation
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2008, 10:55:39 AM »
I think Rick has one. Not sure if it's one from the same seller or not.

Nope, mine is home-rolled and nothing complicated.  JasonD has installed them on a couple of the cars he's done within the past 2 years, though. :-\

Offline Joker (§ir£Ğragon)

  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4994
  • When you think it can't get any worse...God laughs
  • Referrals: 0
Re: shaker activation
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2008, 11:01:35 AM »
I think Rick has one. Not sure if it's one from the same seller or not.

Nope, mine is home-rolled and nothing complicated.  JasonD has installed them on a couple of the cars he's done within the past 2 years, though. :-\

What do you have - some kind of computer program that flashes a red light whenever someone types in your name? I swear it was only 3 minutes for you to respond to that.    lmao!!!
Larry


Offline Rick

  • Global Moderator
  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7939
  • Referrals: 0
Re: shaker activation
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2008, 11:48:39 AM »
Nah, I hadn't logged in since last night, but had the overwhelming urge to check the site just then! ;)

Offline Mayan78

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 161
  • Referrals: 0
Re: shaker activation
« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2008, 01:46:33 PM »
I got mine recently from Classic Industries (part# PP110) including the kickdown switch option. I'm going to start the install this weekend (assuming it ever warms up here) so I'll do pictures.

The instructions look pretty straight forward, though I'm a bit mechanically inclined.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2008, 01:48:16 PM by Adinirac »

Offline MacT/A80

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 312
  • Referrals: 0
    • Mac's Myspace
Re: shaker activation
« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2008, 04:58:31 PM »
i put one on mine, nothing too hard. the problem is getting the flap door to stick to the shaker, mine broke loose once and i had to do it again. but everything else like wiring was cake. mine has the switch operated by the pedal, i think mounting the new bracket and switch was the hardest part cause you have to wedge yourself under your dash.  Really fun to watch when its done though ;D
[IMG]
1980 Trans Am, 400 Pontiac, auto
2011 Mustang, 1971 GMC C2500, 250 Straight 6, 4sp

Offline Mayan78

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 161
  • Referrals: 0
Re: shaker activation
« Reply #11 on: March 27, 2008, 05:50:39 PM »
i put one on mine, nothing too hard. the problem is getting the flap door to stick to the shaker, mine broke loose once and i had to do it again. but everything else like wiring was cake. mine has the switch operated by the pedal, i think mounting the new bracket and switch was the hardest part cause you have to wedge yourself under your dash.  Really fun to watch when its done though ;D

As my shaker isn't the original one anyways, I was toying with using rivets to hold the flap to the shaker before I repaint it all. But I also like a stock looking car so I'll probably just use the JB Weld as the instructions say.

Offline Hitman

  • Administrator
  • Lifetime Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8256
  • Referrals: 0
    • http://www.78ta.com
Re: shaker activation
« Reply #12 on: March 27, 2008, 07:57:11 PM »
I have done quite a few of them and yes, they are not too hard at all to do.  Directions are easy to follow, install is simple and straight forward.
Brett Campbell
"Hitman"
www.78ta.com
www.ohiofirebirds.com
www.tanationals.com
1978 Trans Am

Offline Helter80

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 905
  • Referrals: 0
Re: shaker activation
« Reply #13 on: March 27, 2008, 11:53:55 PM »
haha, i bought my 79 t/a off of a friend of mine, and when he had the car, it had the original engine in it, and he blew the original engine because he cut open the back of the shaker scoop to let air in for more power. ---he drove the car in the rain, and the rain was sucked into the carb into the engine and killed the engine. So, when I bought the car, I took a small piece of sheet metal and sealed the back of the scoop up when I got the car re-painted. --I also put a new 403 engine in it too. haha
kinda funny story, but sucky at the same time because it killed the original motor
www.transamplus.com
Rob


79 Trans Am- Nocturne Blue,T-Tops,403,Camel Tan Deluxe Interior

Offline P-Js_BLKBRRD

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 120
  • Referrals: 0
Re: shaker activation
« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2008, 12:21:51 PM »
Bought a 2nd scoop on eBay that already had the back plate cut out (didn't want to cut the original) and got the CI kit.  As soon as the paint dries will be doing the install.
"BLKBRRD"